top of page

Singing In Spain

Hi all! 

This blog is all about my journey in Spain. The ups, downs, and everything in between will be shared in what I hope is a fun engaging way!

Enjoy!

  • Writer's pictureToya M.

The Journey Begins

Updated: Aug 23, 2018


Location: USA
Time: 37 days until Spain

Hey guys!


This blog will be all about my upcoming semester in Barcelona, Spain. A little background info first. My name is LaToya, and I'm a junior Computer Science major at Sewanee: The University of the South (YSR!). Officially, I'll be studying robotics and other computer stuff along with Spainish while away. Unofficially, I just want a place to sing in spanish without people looking at me strange.


I'm extremely excited about leaving (but very anxious)! There will be so much to discover about Spain and myself, and I'm especially happy to learn spanish again (it's been ~3 years since I last spoke it!) and learn the culture of Spain. Not gonna lie, it is nervewracking to be so far from my friends and family but my host mom Anna seems really nice!


If you're reading this as a student that might go to Spain (or anywhere abroad), I hope my journey helps you make your decision. Yes it is scary, yes it is unknown, but it doesn't have to be overwhelming. The student handbook answers most of your questions related to finances and clothing. Although, a book can't tell you how you will fit in at a new place. Honestly that's what scares me the most, but I'm ready to try and I think that's the most important thing.


If I think too far away, I lose site of today. — LaToya McIntyre

 

Fingers Crossed. Prayers Sent.


Home: Contact

Thanks for your interest in Singing In Spain! If you have any questions feel free to get in touch and I will get back to you soon!

Subscribe

Your details were sent successfully!

bottom of page