top of page

Singing In Spain

Hi all! 

This blog is all about my journey in Spain. The ups, downs, and everything in between will be shared in what I hope is a fun engaging way!

Enjoy!

  • Writer's pictureToya M.

Am I Still a Tourist?

Date: November 6, 2018

Time: 18:58

Location: Barcelona, Spain


I've been in Barcelona for 55 days, and going to class for 38...

  • Last week, I missed the metro station I needed to go to class and arrived thirty minutes late.

  • I have no idea how to navigate without my phone

  • Google translate is my best friend for classes and meals

  • I constantly find new places and want to take a bajillion photos like all the other tourists

  • I found a McD's two seconds from my metro station...yesterday. After going 15 minutes away by metro to the other McDonalds for the past month.

  • Lastly, My body never wants to go to sleep on Barcelona Time!!!

On the other hand:

  • I resist the urge to take a bajillion photos.

  • I know a little Spanish (un poco)

  • Someone tried to ask me for directions, so I must be blending in *

  • And when I'm exhausted, I think in Spanish so I must be retaining some information

* Disclaimer: I couldn't help because I didn't know *


So, the main question: Am I still a tourist?

By definition a tourist is a person who is traveling or visiting a place for pleasure. While I am pleased to be here, I am traveling to "study".

Therefore, I am not a tourist!!!




Well, at least not in Barcelona.

<<insert perfect Segway to talking about my journey to Amsterdam>>

Last weekend, I decided to go to Amsterdam for a couple of days. I would love to say it was a great journey that revealed the glories of travel, and history...but it didn't.


The entire trip was like one of those comedies where everything goes wrong so you just start laughing to ease the pain


Real life photo of me in Amsterdam

It was really rainy, and all the places I wanted to see required online tickets that sold out as soon as I realized I needed them. But, Amsterdam is a beautiful place and I would definitely return again, better prepared, in the summer, to avoid the rain.

Click the doggo to see my Amsterdam photos!



 

Fingers Crossed. Prayers Sent.

Home: Contact

Thanks for your interest in Singing In Spain! If you have any questions feel free to get in touch and I will get back to you soon!

Subscribe

Your details were sent successfully!

bottom of page